Departmental Informations



Many departmental heads have nominated a person who is the Point of Contact (PoC). For those departments, which do not have PoCs, the Head acts as the PoC. The PoC has the same rights as the Head of the Department over the departmenrtal webpage. The PoC has an email address which starts with the name of the department viz the email address for Department of Chemistry is chemistry@gauhati.ac.in. The departmental email IDs are given below for each department in red colour.


  1. Department of Anthropology
    Prof Dwipen Bezbaruah (Head)
    anthropology@gauhati.ac.in

  2. Department of Applied Science
    Dr Pranjal Saikia (Head)
    Sankar Moni Borah (PoC)
    appliedsc@gauhati.ac.in

  3. Department of Arabic
    Dr Mizazur Rahman Talukdar (Head)
    arabic@gauhati.ac.in

  4. Department of Assamese
    Prof Kanak Chandra Saharia (Head)
    Pranjal Sharma Bashishtha (PoC)
    assamese@gauhati.ac.in

  5. Department of Bengali
    Prof Binita Rani Das (Head)
    bengali@gauhati.ac.in

  6. Department of Bioengineering and Technology
    Dr Debabrat Baishya (Head)
    Dr Madhuri Das (PoC)
    bioengg@gauhati.ac.in

  7. Department of Biotechnology
    Prof Mohan Cahndra Kalita (Head)
    Dr Pranjan Barman (PoC)
    biotechnology@gauhati.ac.in

  8. Department of Bodo
    Prof Swarna Prabha Chainary (Head)
    bodo@gauhati.ac.in

  9. Department of Botany
    Prof Nilakshee Devi (Head)
    Prof Partha Pratim Baruah (PoC)
    botany@gauhati.ac.in

  10. Department of Business Administration
    Prof Rinalini Pathak Kakati (Head)
    Surajit Chakraborty (PoC)
    businessadmin@gauhati.ac.in

  11. Department of Chemistry
    Pof Chitrani Medhi (Head)
    chemistry@gauhati.ac.in

  12. Department of Commerce
    Prof Amrit Pal Singh (Head)
    Dr Tilak Chandra Das (PoC)
    commerce@gauhati.ac.in

  13. Department of Communication and Journalism
    Dr Ankuran Dutta (Head)
    communication@gauhati.ac.in

  14. Department of Computer Science
    Dr Abhijit Sarmah (Head)
    computer@gauhati.ac.in

  15. Department of Disabilities Studies
    Prof Jagat Swargiary (Head)
    Mintu Bhattacharya (PoC)
    abilities@gauhati.ac.in

  16. Department of Economics
    Prof Gayatri Goswami (Head)
    economics@gauhati.ac.in

  17. Department of Education
    Prof Polee Saikia (Head)
    Dr Dulumoni Goswami (PoC)
    education@gauhati.ac.in

  18. Department of Electronics and Communication Engineering
    Prof Kandarpa Kumar Sarma (Head)
    ece@gauhati.ac.in

  19. Department of Electronics and Communication Technology
    Prof Tulshi Bezboruah (Head)
    Dr Hidam Kumarjit Singh (PoC)
    ect@gauhati.ac.in

  20. Department of English
    Prof Bibhash Choudhury (Head)
    Prof Anjali Daimari (PoC)
    english@gauhati.ac.in

  21. Department of English Language Teaching
    Prof Padmini Bhuyan Boruah (Head)
    Dr Khamseng Baruah (PoC)
    elt@gauhati.ac.in

  22. Department of Environmental Science
    Prof Hari Prasad Sarma (Head)
    environmentalsc@gauhati.ac.in

  23. Department of Folklore Research
    Prof Anil Kumar Boro (Head)
    Dr Pallabi Borah (PoC)
    folklore@gauhati.ac.in

  24. Department of Foreign Languages
    Prof Gulab Jha (Head)
    foreignlanguages@gauhati.ac.in

  25. Department of Geography
    Prof Madhusree Das (Head)
    Dr Manash Jyoti Nath
    geography@gauhati.ac.in

  26. Department of Geological Sciences
    Prof Sarat Phukan (Head)
    geology@gauhati.ac.in

  27. Department of Hindi
    Dr Rita Moni Baishya (Head)
    hindi@gauhati.ac.in

  28. Department of History
    Prof Rajib Handique (Head)
    history@gauhati.ac.in

  29. Department of Information Technology
    Dr Vaskar Deka (Head)
    infotech@gauhati.ac.in

  30. Department of Instrumentation and USIC
    Prof Utpal Sarma (Head)
    iusic@gauhati.ac.in

  31. Department of Law
    Prof Stuti Deka (Head)
    law@gauhati.ac.in

  32. Department of Library and Information Science
    Prof Sanjay Kumar Singh (Head)
    lis@gauhati.ac.in

  33. Department of Linguistics
    Prof Jyotiprakash Tamuli (Head)
    Dr Krishna Boro (PoC)
    linguistics@gauhati.ac.in

  34. Department of MIL and Literary Studies
    Prof Anuradha Sarma (Head)
    mil@gauhati.ac.in

  35. Department of Mathematics
    Prof Nazibuddin Ahmed (Head)
    mathematics@gauhati.ac.in

  36. Department of Persian
    Prof Rekibuddin Ahmed (Head)
    Dr Baharul Ali (PoC)
    persian@gauhati.ac.in

  37. Department of Philosophy
    Prof Sauravpran Goswami (Head)
    philosophy@gauhati.ac.in

  38. Department of Physics
    Prof Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee (Head)
    physics@gauhati.ac.in

  39. Department of Political Science
    Prof Akhil Ranjan Dutta (Head)
    Dr Shubhrajeet Konwer (PoC)
    polsc@gauhati.ac.in

  40. Department of Psychology
    Prof Indrani Phookan Borooah (Head)
    psychology@gauhati.ac.in

  41. Department of Sanskrit
    Prof Hiran Sarmah (Head)
    sanskrit@gauhati.ac.in

  42. Department of Sociology
    Dr Shabeena Yasmin Saikia (Head)
    Dr Ritwik Rupam Sarma (PoC)
    sociology@gauhati.ac.in

  43. Department of Statistics
    Prof Kishore Kumar Das (Head)
    Dr Sahana Bhattacharjee (PoC)
    statistics@gauhati.ac.in

  44. Department of Women's Studies
    Prof Polly Vauquline (Head)
    womenstudies@gauhati.ac.in

  45. Department of Zoology
    Prof Prasanta Kumar Saikia (Head)
    zoology@gauhati.ac.in